gendermom

Two years ago today, I sent the letter below to my extended family and closest friends.  M. had just turned four, and had been trying to tell me for months that she wasn’t the kid I thought she was.  Reading this letter now, I’m struck by how frightened I was and how hard I was trying to present M. – and the rest of us – with every possible scenario other than the one that ultimately came to be: That she was really a girl.  But I’m also proud of this letter.  It was my line in the sand, my declaration to our community:

I am going to support this child – no matter what.  Are you with me?

(p.s. I know that a lot of parents like me send letters like these to family and friends.  If you are trying to write such a letter, please feel free to…

View original post 1,202 more words

